The Scare

So, yesterday was the first ever seizure my dog, Sidka, has ever had. The seizure itself lasted for a good few minutes, and when he came to, he was aggressive and disoriented. 

Now, my eldest sister got bit during the ordeal and is terrified of him. The only reason she was called was her experience as a vet. 

She expressed her want to have him put down. But, you wouldn’t do that to a human, and I don’t want to do that to my dog. 

I now have to keep him away from my niece and nephew when they are around, and now my eldest sister who is off of work the next few days. I’m not sure what to do. 

If there was someone we knew in the area that would take care of him and know what to do, it would be one thing. But right now, there isn’t and I’m not going to put my baby boy down just because he’s sick. 

The vet says that most dogs often only have one seizure in a lifetime. Sidka is on seizure medicine because it lasted so long and was so strong for his first seizure. 

If anyone has ever dealt with this and can give me some advice, that would be great. I live in a crowded, small 3 bedroom “house” and have no money to move thanks to a very high rent keeping me in place. 

I live in the deep boonies. Where the people believe the only good animal is a dead one and the “Humane Society” here is the pound- where you’re lucky if they hold a dog for a week before they kill them. 

Please, help.

Leave a Reply

